Show simple item record

Depositordc.contributorDurant, Yati
Funderdc.contributor.otherAtelier: Creative Arts and the Social Sciences Networken_UK
Spatial Coveragedc.coverage.spatialUKen
Spatial Coveragedc.coverage.spatialUNITED KINGDOMen
Time Perioddc.coverage.temporalstart=2015-10-31; end=2015-10-31; scheme=W3C-DTFen
Data Creatordc.creatorDurant, Yati
Citationdc.identifier.citationDurant, Yati. (2017). Häxan concert 31.10.15 mix 1, 2015 [moving image]. University of Edinburgh.
Persistent Identifierdc.identifier.uri
Persistent Identifierdc.identifier.uri
Dataset Description (abstract)dc.description.abstractThis is the complete 2 hour performance of a spontaneous composition concert in the Reid Concert Hall on 31st October 2015 to the film Häxan (1922) by Benjamin Christensen with a score by Yati Durant. The ensemble was made of Richard Worth - flute, Julia Lungu - violin, Jilly Mathews - harp, Magdalena Durant - voice, Armin Sturm - contrabass, Christian Svalesen - trumpet and electronics and Yati Durant - trumpet and electronics. The composition was made of sets of compositional "fragments" that the musicians could use in sequence with rehearsed instrumental "decisions" during the performance. The methods used for this performance were a variation of Method 2 “Look first at the film in its entirety, with or without sound, create and study preparatory material together, such as a cue sheet. Then talk about how it will be played and establish limitations ahead of the first try. Then play and talk about the outcome.” and Method 4 "Don't rehearse at all and play at first sight in the performance." All of the instruments were amplified and had each of their signals feed back to the electronics for real-time processing. The electronics used were: Electron Machindrum SPS-1UW+, Korg MS-20 Mini and SQ1, Korg Volca, iPad running Samplr app, Ableton Live, Korg Kaoss pad and Kaosillator through ZVex.en_UK
Publisherdc.publisherUniversity of Edinburghen_UK
Rightsdc.rightsCreative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Public Licenseen
Subjectdc.subjectelectronic musicen_UK
Subjectdc.subjectvisual musicen_UK
Subjectdc.subjectfilm musicen_UK
Subject Classificationdc.subject.classificationCreative Arts and Designen_UK
Titledc.titleHäxan concert 31.10.15 mix 1en_UK
Typedc.typemoving imageen_UK

Download All
zip file MD5 Checksum: f2647fece24eb9691a32b3d038f55c5b

Files in this item


This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record